Row Wrapper 2

Capercallie Cottage - #LH38

4.5000
(44 Reviews)

Capacity

2 Bedrooms
2 Bath
Sleeps 4

Search Availability

About

Capercallie Cottage is a great way to experience the uniqueness of the central coast. This newly updated 2 bedroom 2 bath house is surrounded by a beautiful Monterrey pine forest, with a peak of the ocean to the south west from the living room deck. Come and relax in beautiful Cambria California! Steep driveway for parking.

A short walk to Fiscalini East/West Ranch Preserve and the Lampton Park tide pools, some of the best in our area.

When you're ready to venture out and explore the beautiful Central Coast you will have many options close by. Hearst Castle and Hearst Winery, perched above the San Simeon Cove, are a short drive up the coast, and the famed Paso Robles wine country is a quick drive east. Charming San Luis Obispo is a 45-minute drive south and the Big Sur Coast is at your doorstep heading north. Cambria is the perfect starting off point for countless adventures.

Features

Amenities

  • queen
  • forests
  • winery tours
  • Satellite / Cable
  • antiquing
  • Beachcombing
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • whale watching
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • Ocean View
  • Surfing
  • Full Kitchen
  • Linens
  • Washer & Dryer
  • WIFI
  • Beach Walking
  • Hiking Trails
  • Ocean Kayaking
  • Sight-Seeing
  • Exceptional Sunsets
  • Exceptional Views
  • Near Beach
  • Shopping
  • Hearst Castle nearby
  • Lighthouse
  • Beach
  • Playground
  • Forest View

Location

  • Ocean View
  • Forest View

Availability

Key
#Night Available#Night Unavailable#Arrive Only#Depart Only
May 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31
 
 
June 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
 
2
$225 /nt
3
$225 /nt
4
$225 /nt
5
$225 /nt
6
$225 /nt
7
$225 /nt
8
$225 /nt
9
$225 /nt
10
$225 /nt
11
$225 /nt
12
$225 /nt
13
$225 /nt
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
$225 /nt
19
$225 /nt
20
$225 /nt
21
$225 /nt
22
$225 /nt
23
$225 /nt
24
$225 /nt
25
$225 /nt
26
$225 /nt
27
$225 /nt
28
$225 /nt
29
$225 /nt
30
$225 /nt
 
July 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$225 /nt
2
$225 /nt
3
$225 /nt
4
$225 /nt
5
$225 /nt
6
$225 /nt
7
$225 /nt
8
$225 /nt
9
$225 /nt
10
$225 /nt
11
$225 /nt
12
$225 /nt
13
$225 /nt
14
$225 /nt
15
$225 /nt
16
$225 /nt
17
$225 /nt
18
$225 /nt
19
$225 /nt
20
$225 /nt
21
$225 /nt
22
$225 /nt
23
$225 /nt
24
$225 /nt
25
$225 /nt
26
$225 /nt
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31
 
 
August 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
$225 /nt
12
$225 /nt
13
$225 /nt
14
$225 /nt
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
$225 /nt
20
$225 /nt
21
$225 /nt
22
$225 /nt
23
$225 /nt
24
$225 /nt
25
$225 /nt
26
$225 /nt
27
$225 /nt
28
$225 /nt
29
$225 /nt
30
$225 /nt
31
$225 /nt
September 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
$225 /nt
2
$225 /nt
3
$225 /nt
4
$225 /nt
5
$225 /nt
6
$225 /nt
7
$225 /nt
8
$225 /nt
9
$225 /nt
10
$225 /nt
11
$225 /nt
12
$225 /nt
13
$225 /nt
14
$225 /nt
15
$225 /nt
16
$225 /nt
17
$225 /nt
18
$225 /nt
19
$225 /nt
20
$225 /nt
21
$225 /nt
22
$225 /nt
23
$225 /nt
24
$225 /nt
25
$225 /nt
26
$225 /nt
27
$225 /nt
28
$225 /nt
29
$225 /nt
30
$225 /nt
 
October 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$225 /nt
2
$225 /nt
3
$225 /nt
4
$225 /nt
5
$225 /nt
6
$225 /nt
7
$225 /nt
8
$225 /nt
9
$225 /nt
10
$225 /nt
11
$225 /nt
12
$225 /nt
13
$225 /nt
14
$225 /nt
15
$225 /nt
16
$225 /nt
17
$225 /nt
18
$225 /nt
19
$225 /nt
20
$225 /nt
21
$225 /nt
22
$225 /nt
23
$225 /nt
24
$225 /nt
25
$225 /nt
26
$225 /nt
27
$225 /nt
28
$225 /nt
29
$225 /nt
30
$225 /nt
31
$225 /nt
 
November 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$200 /nt
2
$200 /nt
3
$200 /nt
4
$200 /nt
5
$200 /nt
6
$200 /nt
7
$200 /nt
8
$200 /nt
9
$200 /nt
10
$200 /nt
11
$200 /nt
12
$200 /nt
13
$200 /nt
14
$200 /nt
15
$200 /nt
16
$200 /nt
17
$200 /nt
18
$200 /nt
19
$200 /nt
20
$200 /nt
21
$200 /nt
22
$217 /nt
23
$217 /nt
24
$225 /nt
25
$225 /nt
26
$225 /nt
27
$225 /nt
28
$225 /nt
29
$217 /nt
30
$217 /nt
December 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
$225 /nt
2
$225 /nt
3
$200 /nt
4
$200 /nt
5
$200 /nt
6
$200 /nt
7
$200 /nt
8
$200 /nt
9
$200 /nt
10
$200 /nt
11
$200 /nt
12
$200 /nt
13
$200 /nt
14
$200 /nt
15
$200 /nt
16
$200 /nt
17
$200 /nt
18
$225 /nt
19
$225 /nt
20
$217 /nt
21
$217 /nt
22
$225 /nt
23
$225 /nt
24
$225 /nt
25
$225 /nt
26
$225 /nt
27
$217 /nt
28
$217 /nt
29
$225 /nt
30
$225 /nt
31
$225 /nt
 
January 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$225 /nt
2
$225 /nt
3
$200 /nt
4
$200 /nt
5
$200 /nt
6
$200 /nt
7
$200 /nt
8
$200 /nt
9
$200 /nt
10
$200 /nt
11
$200 /nt
12
$200 /nt
13
$200 /nt
14
$200 /nt
15
$200 /nt
16
$200 /nt
17
$200 /nt
18
$200 /nt
19
$200 /nt
20
$200 /nt
21
$200 /nt
22
$200 /nt
23
$200 /nt
24
$200 /nt
25
$200 /nt
26
$200 /nt
27
$200 /nt
28
$200 /nt
29
$200 /nt
30
$200 /nt
31
$200 /nt
 
February 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$200 /nt
2
$200 /nt
3
$200 /nt
4
$200 /nt
5
$200 /nt
6
$200 /nt
7
$200 /nt
8
$200 /nt
9
$200 /nt
10
$200 /nt
11
$225 /nt
12
$225 /nt
13
$225 /nt
14
$225 /nt
15
$225 /nt
16
$225 /nt
17
$225 /nt
18
$200 /nt
19
$200 /nt
20
$200 /nt
21
$200 /nt
22
$200 /nt
23
$200 /nt
24
$200 /nt
25
$200 /nt
26
$200 /nt
27
$200 /nt
28
$200 /nt
 
March 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$200 /nt
2
$200 /nt
3
$200 /nt
4
$200 /nt
5
$200 /nt
6
$200 /nt
7
$200 /nt
8
$200 /nt
9
$200 /nt
10
$200 /nt
11
$200 /nt
12
$200 /nt
13
$200 /nt
14
$200 /nt
15
$200 /nt
16
$200 /nt
17
$200 /nt
18
$200 /nt
19
$200 /nt
20
$200 /nt
21
$200 /nt
22
$200 /nt
23
$200 /nt
24
$200 /nt
25
$200 /nt
26
$200 /nt
27
$200 /nt
28
$200 /nt
29
$200 /nt
30
$200 /nt
31
$200 /nt
 
April 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$200 /nt
2
$200 /nt
3
$200 /nt
4
$200 /nt
5
$200 /nt
6
$200 /nt
7
$200 /nt
8
$200 /nt
9
$200 /nt
10
$200 /nt
11
$200 /nt
12
$200 /nt
13
$225 /nt
14
$225 /nt
15
$225 /nt
16
$225 /nt
17
$225 /nt
18
$225 /nt
19
$225 /nt
20
$225 /nt
21
$225 /nt
22
$225 /nt
23
$225 /nt
24
$225 /nt
25
$225 /nt
26
$225 /nt
27
$225 /nt
28
$200 /nt
29
$200 /nt
30
$200 /nt
 

Map

Reviews

Leave a Review

Great place to stay

January 2024
, Cushing, ME United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

The cottage was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed for our two week stay. The neighborhood was very quiet which is what we was looking for. We enjoyed the ocean view from our deck and seeing the beautiful sunrise in the morning and lovely sunsets in the evenings. We loved hearing the ocean waves and the sea lions bellowing in the distance. The washing machine and dryer worked well as did the stove for cooking. The location of the cottage was convenient and only a short distance to the Fiscalini Ranch Preserve, Moonstone Beach, Hearst Castle and the Elephant Seals Sanctuary. We saw lots of deer grazing on the back lawn which was fun to watch and the cuisine in Cambria was excellent. The folks in town were very friendly and welcoming. We look forward to our next vacation to California and would rent from Breen Vacations again in the future. The only negative thing I can say about the property is the living room lamp seemed to have an intermittent connection that seemed to come on and off just by touching the lightbulb fixture so we chose to unplug the lamp and not use it due to fear it would catch fire. The curtains in the living room and downstairs bedroom are torn and the one of the shades in the living room was broken therefore we was unable to open it. Other than that, we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Thanks for sharing Capercallie Cottage with us. Valerie & Michael

Manager's Response

Thank you for the review, Valerie and Michael. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Capercallie Cottage here in Cambria! We appreciate your feedback and will address it with the owners, we are always looking to improve where needed. We hope to host you again soon!

Cambria Weekend

March 2023
, Ojai, CA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Always good at this rental have stayed at it at least 4 or 5 times, hate it when we stay some where else. Everything always good, quiet neighborhood, view of the ocean and wild life around in the mornings to see.

Manager's Response

Well, we hope you don't have to stay anywhere else! We'll look forward to hosting you again.

Cambria Weekend

March 2023
, Ojai, CA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Always good at this rental have stayed at it at least 4 or 5 times, hate it when we stay some where else. Everything always good, quiet neighborhood, view of the ocean and wild life around in the mornings to see.

Manager's Response

Well, we hope you don't have to stay anywhere else! We'll look forward to hosting you again.

Great area but a subpar and disappointing property

December 2022
, SHERMAN OAKS, CA United States

Overall
2
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
2
Location
5
Property condition
2

This property has a lot of problems with it. It is unfortunate because this property, unlike others, is professionally managed.

The refrigerator was leaking throughout and we had to deal with a wet spot on the kitchen floor wiping it constantly. No handyman was sent and no resolution was provided. We had trouble with hot water downstairs. A plumber came but not until much later.


More generally though, we stay in many airbnb's and vrbo's and this one is significantly subpar compared to all others we have stayed at. First, the home is just dirty. This includes the floors, the surfaces and the windows including window frames. A number of dishes in the cupboards were dirty or greasy. The top shelf of the dishwasher is nearly broken. The trashcan is dirty inside. The kitchen utensils are very old, including pots and pans. Some of the towels were dirty and even had someone's hair on them (not ours). Some sheets had stains on them - it appears these items were not washed, or need to be replaced.

There was not an extra pillow nor an extra blanket anywhere in the house (we found one small, light extra blanket). It gets cold at night and we did not really want to cover ourselves or our children with the comforters that appeared not to have been washed in years. A house should have a couple of extra blankets and pillows stocked. The hangers in the closets are wire hangers from someone's dry cleaning - still with paper on them. There are small soap bars but not a body wash, nor shampoo provided.
As to the kitchen, providing something beyond salt and sugar, even if it's just a couple of spices or olive oil would go a long way. There are coffee filters but a pack of coffee and a gallon of water would be nice. This would set the owner back about $20 per stay out of the $400 per night rent but the guests would appreciate it.

Overall, the property is managed and stocked in the least expensive way possible. I shared all this w

Awesome

November 2022
, Ojai, CA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Always like staying at this rental, one of if not are favorite rentals in Cambria

Manager's Response

Thank you for the review, Leon. We are happy to hear you enjoyed another stay at Capercallie Cottage! We appreciate you being one of our repeat guests and we cannot wait to host you again!

Awesome

November 2022
, Ojai, CA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Always like staying at this rental, one of if not are favorite rentals in Cambria

Manager's Response

Thank you for the review, Leon. We are happy to hear you enjoyed another stay at Capercallie Cottage! We appreciate you being one of our repeat guests and we cannot wait to host you again!

Awesome

November 2022
, Ojai, CA US

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Always like staying at this rental, one of if not are favorite rentals in Cambria

Manager's Response

Thank you for the review, Leon. We are happy to hear you enjoyed another stay at Capercallie Cottage! We appreciate you being one of our repeat guests and we cannot wait to host you again!

Awesome

November 2022
, Ojai, CA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Always like staying at this rental, one of if not are favorite rentals in Cambria

Manager's Response

Thank you for the review, Leon. We are happy to hear you enjoyed another stay at Capercallie Cottage! We appreciate you being one of our repeat guests and we cannot wait to host you again!

Nice Place for A Family in Cambria

October 2022
, Karabar, AP United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

The home was comfortable and spacious in a very quiet neighborhood, with plenty of deer as an extra attraction. The use of the garage was nice. Unfortunately, the washer was unavailable for use. Also unfortunate was the uncooperative weather, which limited the view of the sea from the house. Cambria is a nice town to visit, not far for those interested in seeing Hearst Castle. Property staff were very friendly and made checking in very easy.

Manager's Response

Hi Robert,


We're glad you enjoyed your stay in this beautiful home.

It's location makes for a quiet, relaxing stay. The wildlife is a bonus!

You know where to reach us if you want to stay again. :)

Cambria Getaway

March 2022
, Ojai, CA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Beautiful view, clean house and quiet neighborhood. Will definetly stay there again.

Cambria Getaway

March 2022
, Ojai, CA US

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Beautiful view, clean house and quiet neighborhood. Will definetly stay there again.

Cambria Getaway

March 2022
, Ojai, CA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Beautiful view, clean house and quiet neighborhood. Will definetly stay there again.

Cambria Getaway

March 2022
, Ojai, CA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Beautiful view, clean house and quiet neighborhood. Will definetly stay there again.

Cambria Getaway

March 2022
, Ojai, CA US

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Beautiful view, clean house and quiet neighborhood. Will definetly stay there again.

Perfect

March 2022
, La Mirada, CA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Great getaway spot

Manager's Response

Happy to hear you enjoyed your getaway.

Perfect

March 2022
, La Mirada, CA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Great getaway spot

Manager's Response

Happy to hear you enjoyed your getaway.

Capercallie cottage

October 2021
, Nipomo, CA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Great getaway in Cambria! Love the sound of the ocean and wind blowing through the pine trees! Hard to find that combination. Very peaceful and relaxing.

Manager's Response

Thank you for the review, Steven. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed a relaxing stay at Capercallie Cottage! We hope to host you again very soon!

Nice house, quiet location w/ horrible driveway.

October 2021
, San Ramon, CA United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
3

Nice home. Very clean. Not for those who have mobility issues. Driveway is very steeply angled and not easy to navigate with a manual transmission. Also, take driveway at an angle or you will bottoms out. Dining room seats and sofas are sagging and should be replaced. That being said I would gladly stay at this home again. Beds are comfortable and home is very clean.

Manager's Response

Thank you for your review, Elaine. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Capercallie Cottage and we do appreciate the feedback! We hope to have you back again very soon!

Great stay in cambria

October 2020
, San Francisco, CA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We had a great stay in cambria at the capercaillie cottage. The house was well equipped, in a lovely neighborhood, with a view of the ocean. We had an easy time working with Breen vacation rentals.

Manager's Response

Hi Jennifer,


Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated.

We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Capercallie Cottage

October 2020
, Lafayette, CA United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
3
Location
5
Property condition
3

We enjoyed where we stayed. The neighbors around us were quiet and friendly. You can hear the ocean waves at night from the back deck, and the nightly stargazing was phenomenal.

Manager's Response

Hi Colleen,


This home is located on one of the quieter sides of town, so you definitely get the luxury of listening to the ocean while enjoying a quiet night!


Kindly,


Jackie

A Walkers Paradise and Safe, Quiet Home

August 2020
, Porterville, CA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We left our home for daughter and family to quarantine after driving back from Florida where they lived the past 9 months. Two weeks at the beach, nothing to do but what hubby and I wanted, and we could walk anytime of day and not deal with the heat.

This home is a great location for walking along the coast - 2 local preserves, roads with interesting homes, plus multiple other locations north near the elephant seals and south overlooking Cayucos Bay and further south to Montana de Oro.

Although it was only 2 of us, the house is a perfect setup for 4. The house had everything we wanted/needed, an easy partial view of the ocean, nice neighbors, and great beds. What more could we want?

We have been uber careful during this world pandemic but felt safe and comfortable in our home for 2 weeks. We did experience the smoke of fires from far north but that was true throughout California.

Manager's Response

Hi Karen,


It so wonderful that you had a very relaxing stay.

You got to experience the very rare hot Cambria weather, but luckily the beach was just down the road!

There really is so much to explore in the area if you are not familiar with Cambria.

We hope you decide to stay with us again if you ever plan on visiting Cambria in the future!

Coast trip

July 2020
, Hanford, CA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Great stay. Well equipped kitchen. Comfortable beds. Great view from deck.

Manager's Response

Thanks Pamela! We hope you can return.

Coast trip

July 2020
, Hanford, CA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Great stay. Well equipped kitchen. Comfortable beds. Great view from deck.

Manager's Response

Thanks Pamela! We hope you can return.

Very cute house in nice neighborhood

June 2020
, Fremont, CA United States

Overall
3
Services from rental manager
2
Cleanliness
2
Location
2
Property condition
2

Good location near to park. Having good view from the patio. Enjoyed.

Manager's Response

happy to hear you enjoyed your visit.

Nice home for two couples or family with an older child

December 2019
, Gaithersburg, MD United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
4

Nice home in a quiet, friendly neighborhood. Easy walk to the beach, but restaurants and shops require a short drive. The home is a little dated but the mattresses and linens are fine. Wear shoes on the deck because it is older and in need of replacing. Since the bedrooms are on different floors, this home would not be good for a family with young children. It would be perfect for two couples or for older children that want privacy. The kitchen and supplies are adequate.

The rental agency personnel were friendly and professional.

Manager's Response

Cappercallie Cottage is a great place for peace and quiet and enjoying the glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope we can serve you again soon.

Special time

August 2018
, Clovis, CA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

It was amazing like always. We have been renting homes in cambria for over 12 years and it has always been amazing. My son even had a book published from our trips called the mystery of cambria. He was 11 whe he wrote it

Special time

August 2018
, Clovis, CA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

It was amazing like always. We have been renting homes in cambria for over 12 years and it has always been amazing. My son even had a book published from our trips called the mystery of cambria. He was 11 whe he wrote it

A visit to friends in Cambria

February 2018
, Carlsborg, WA United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
4
Property condition
4

During our time here we were very comfortable.

Great Deal for a get away

December 2017
, Berkeley, CA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Spent 4 days in Cambria with friends. The view from the deck was amazing.

Peaceful easy feeling

August 2017
, Peoria, AZ United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
4

This was the perfect vacation spot for relaxing and recharging our life batteries...The deck was located above a tree lined lot that was the deer hangout..with an ocean view through the pines..first afternoon we heard a cracking sound and went out on the deck and saw 6 deer in the lot below us and two juvenile bucks were clacking antlers whilst the doe and fawns were idling observers...very comfy furniture too .... we will be back to this unit we lived in Cambria for years and know all the great culinary experiences (Sea Chest Robins main street grill and the most excellent BBQ chicken the Lions club does at the Friday farmers market! )...Thank you for a marvelous experience.. Oh yes and we saw two foxes run through the area as well as wild turkeys and an amazing squirrel family living in the giant pine tree in the lot..

Pleasant time

March 2017
, Milwaukee, WI United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
4
Property condition
5

Good, even though there were some phone problems and a fire detector that beeped until replaced.

Turkey Day Vacation

November 2016
, Monrovia, CA United States

Overall
2
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
3
Location
2
Property condition
1

not real happy with house

Satisfied Stay!!!!

June 2016
, Bakersfield, CA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
4

Excellent, keep up the good work. Thanks JJans

Review

May 2016
, Merced, CA United States

Overall
1
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
2
Location
2
Property condition
2

We have rented may units in Cambria and my wife and I felt this might be the most dissapointing home we have rented. Carpet is stained and dirty. window blinds were extreemly dirty. Sheets need to be replaced. Kitchen is not well equipped. Decorations are very dated.

Thanksgiving vacation

November 2015
, Fresno, CA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We loved the ocean views and quiet location.

a most relaxing stay

November 2015
, Bakersfield, CA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
4

Everything portrayed in the online advertisement was as shown. We felt comfortable as soon as we arrived and settled in. The view from the top deck was especially wonderful affording a beautiful view of the sunsets as well as the visiting deer. A quiet, peaceful neighborhood. The home was well stocked with necessities and in great shape.

Cambria Getaway

July 2015
, Tustin, CA United States

Overall
3
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Great location with panoramic ocean view. Quiet and clean. A basic house--nothing special about the furnishings or decor, but the location and price are right. 10 minute walk to the ocean and great hiking; a few miles drive to the East and West Villages and Moonstone Beach. The house is in the tree section in a forested section. Very steep driveway; kitchen, living room, and one bedroom are upstairs. People with mobility issues will not be comfortable in this house.

Disconnect Retreat from San Francisco

February 2015
, San Francisco, CA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
4
Property condition
5

What a great weekend of relax and disconnect in Cambria! I definitely recommend the cottage for a weekend trip to the south of Big South. The preparation of the trip was no hazel - the agents of Breen Vacation Station were always responsive and flexible to my requests. The cottage itself is in great condition and offers all aspects as described on the website. It was clean and prepared for my visit. It is located in a nice residential zone in the midst of trees. The sun deck is a perfect spot to eat and hang out. You can even see the ocean!

GREAT PLACE TO STAY

September 2014
, Tulare, CA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We have stayed here two times over the past two years. We just love this place. We love the wild live, long walks to the beach and watching the sunset on the upper patios. The house is fully equipped and you just need to bring your things!

GREAT PLACE TO STAY

September 2014
, Tulare, CA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We have stayed here two times over the past two years. We just love this place. We love the wild live, long walks to the beach and watching the sunset on the upper patios. The house is fully equipped and you just need to bring your things!

Comfortable and Beautiful House!

December 2013
, Brea, CA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
5

Capercallie Cottage is a great place. It is comfortable and fully-equipped. We would stay here again.

Disappointed

October 2013
, Cherry Valley, CA United States

Overall
2
Services from rental manager
2
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
3

We chose this home rental because it was listed as having a king size bed. No king bed. Property management team gave us 1 night free for this. However, bed and living room furniture was SO uncomfortable both husband and I have had to go to chiropractor & massage therapist to get fixed from our vacation. Lastly, property managment markets this as "Luxury Vacation Rentals" yet ALL the dishes, pots & pan, silverware, furnishings, art on walls etc....was garage sale finds. Not a "home away from home" experience. View was nice but that's all I can say. Very disappointed.

Relaxing and Quiet week

September 2013
, Pinedale, CA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Would recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing week in Cambria.

waking up wit the Crows

July 2013
, Fresno, CA United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
4
Property condition
4

it is a new experience to wake up to the sounds of crows and not your alarm clocks. But overall very nice cozy house in the woods with deers, wild turkey, crows and all creatures in the woods. Comfortable to stay in or to go out to beach or town.